Mitosis Diagram

Online Tutoring Is The Easiest, Most Cost-Effective Way For Students To Get The Help They Need Whenever They Need It.


Mitosis is a type of cell division in which the newly formed daughter cells are having the same chromosome
number as that of their parent cell.

There are two stages:

Karyokinesis: division of the nucleus

Cytokinesis: division of the cytoplasm.

Mitosis includes prophase, metaphase, anaphase, telophase and cytokinesis.

PROPHASE:At the beginning of mitosis or early prophase the tangled mass of chromatin fibers become
condensed to form short rod like structures called the chromosomes.During late prophase each chromosome
splits longitudinally except at centromere in to two halves called chromatids.The chromosome becomes more
thick and short.

METAPHASE: the chromosomes attain their maximum condensation;the spindle fibers extend to the equator
of these cells and organize into the spindle apparatus.The chromosomes now move towards the center of the
cell and get themselves arranged at the equator of the spindle apparatus by means of their centromere

ANAPHASE: the centromere of each chromosomes divide longitudinally, it results in the completion of the
division of the chromosome in to two distinct and separate identical chromatids.The spindle fibers that are
attached to the centromere of the chromosome now contract and the sister chromatids move to the opposite

TELOPHASE:The two sets of chromosomes that reach the opposite poles arranged in to two groups. They
are now organized in to two daughter nuclei by the reappearance of the nuclear envelope; chromosomes
uncoil in to chromatin fibers. Nuclear membrane and nucleolus reappears. The spindle fibers disappear.

CYTOKINESIS:The division of cytoplasm takes place resulting in the formation of two daughter cells.

HAVE A QUESTION? Chat With Our Tutoring Experts Now