Diagram of Female Reproductive System

Online Tutoring Is The Easiest, Most Cost-Effective Way For Students To Get The Help They Need Whenever They Need It.


The female reproductive system consists of Ovaries, Fallopian tubes, Uterus, vagina, external genitalia and a pair of Bartholin’s glands.

Ovaries: The ovaries are small, oval-shaped glands which are located on either side of the uterus. They produce eggs and hormones.

Fallopian tubes: The narrow tubes that are attached to the upper part of the uterus and serve as a passage for the ova or egg to travel from the ovaries to the uterus. The fertilization of an egg by a sperm occurs in the fallopian tubes. The fertilized egg then moves to the uterus and gets implanted into the lining of the uterine wall.

Uterus: It is a hollow, pear-shaped organ that is the home to a developing fetus. It is divided into two parts- the cervix, which is the lower part that opens into the vagina, and the main body of the uterus, called the corpus.

Vagina or birth canal: The vagina is a canal that joins the cervix which is the lower part of uterus to the outside of the body.

The main external structures are:

Labia majora: They enclose and protect the other external reproductive organs. The labia majora are relatively large and fleshy and contain sweat and oil-secreting glands.

Labia minora: They are very small or up to 2 inches wide. They lie inside the labia majora, and surround the openings to the vagina and urethra

Bartholin's glands: They are located besides the vaginal opening and produce a mucus secretion.

HAVE A QUESTION? Chat With Our Tutoring Experts Now